Premed 101 Forums

Seedy ares in Winnipeg?

Guest Vitor Belfort

Guest Vitor Belfort

From the " what is winnipeg like" thread...it says if i stay away from the seedy areas i will have a safe and enjoyable stay.

What are the seedy areas in Winnipeg?

I plan on joining a martial arts gym located on 2 Donald unit 5.

I heard its located in downtown....

I also dont own a car so i'll be travelling everywhere by bus.

So 2 questions;

1) Is that area relatively safe at night? Classes end there at 9:15pm and i will be travelling by bus...?

2) How long would it take me to get from 2 Donald unit 5 to the U of M campus by bus???? ( I will be living on rez)

Thanks!

Guest Vitor Belfort

Oh by the way, Im starting first year undergrad at the U of M in september, and i've only been to Winnipeg once in my life.

Guest 1Smiley

Hi,

Not that I'm an expert in city safety, but the location of your martial arts place is on the outskirts of downtown (i.e. not in the core area to which was being referred in another thread). So, you should be reasonably safe. As you probably already know, when you're walking around anywhere at 9:15pm you must be aware of your surroundings.

I think you will be about 20 min way from the campus by bus, but that time can be longer, depending on the bus schedules. You'll probably have to take a route 60 bus from campus to Pembina Hwy (can get off at the first stop after the bus comes off University Cres) and a 62 from there, which should pass right in front of your destination (don't take the 62 from the U of M, unless you want to take the scenic route). You can take a 60 to downtown as well, but until you get familiar with the area, you might not want to do that as it involves a few minutes of walking.

Winnipeg is a great city! Really;)

seeing as how I live in the core area, I think I should be pretty knowledgeable...