Premed 101 Forums

Does any adcom care about honors degrees?

I'm a second year student at western headed into my third year, and I have the option of pursuing an honors spec program. I was wondering if any admission committee cares about the "type of degree", i.e. an honors degree in medical sciences vs. just a major in medical sciences.

If i pursue the honors degree, I would have to pick more challenging courses than a non-honors degree, which could hurt my GPA.

I was also wondering what the minimum "competitive" GPA would be for a 3rd year applicant in ontario. I planned on applying to Mac, Queens, UofT, and Ottawa if I have a chance. 

Thanks!

Degree difficulty is not taken into account by adcom when reviewing your file. However, an honours degree usually allows individuals to pursue a research project in a field that they are interested in and is not solely course based. Does the honours degree at western involve a research project?

As far as minimum GPA, the statistics from these schools are all available on their website. If you are going into an honours you better get used to doing some research :P.

Unless you're applying to a french school (eg Laval, Sherbrooke), program difficulty isn't taken into consideration. As for research, even though it may be easier to find one for an honours thesis, you should be able to secure research at Western whether or not you're doing an honours program. Frankly, I actually preferred doing a major and minor rather than honours, it gives you a chance to explore something outside your major which can either give you a more holistic understanding of the field - if you choose a related minor - or to get a taste of another field.

22 hours ago, lulu95 said: