Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances?

Guest whataboutme

Guest whataboutme

Wondering what my chances of getting into Mac would be: I have a BscPharm with GPA of 3.8, highest scores in Canada in national pharmacy exam & lots of academic awards, hospital pharmacy residency + 10 years of work in hospital pharmacy. Pharmacology, pathology and treatment of disease obviously right up my alley, some EC activities (musical concert band).

1. How does Mac feel about "mature" students? I know UC prefers "mature" individuals. At 33yrs I guess that would be me :-) !

2. While I think my work experience has helped me gain a lot of medical knowledge, the AdCom may see it as 10 years I haven't been in formal education. Would they think I couldn't handle it?

3. What about having children. Does that discriminate against me?

4. Limited volunteer experience (but some)...busy with work & kids.

5. I haven't tackled the MCAT so am limited where I can apply.

Quite frankly, I like the PBL of Mac but can't seem to get a handle for what my chances of getting in would be. From what I can see there are some pretty awesome applicants not getting in to Mac. With 3000 applicants do they really have a system at Mac or is it kind of "luck of the draw?"

Guest bubbagump

You should apply. You sound like an excellent candidate for Mac. They very much look for maturity, life experience, work experience, etc. They also look for academic excellence. If mac admissions put out an ad for what they are looking for, your picture would be on it.

I also want to add, that no matter what you have done, you really cant judge what you're chances are at MAC (Underline the MAC part). It really depends on your essay. If you make a unique and genuine essay that really stands out, I think you will have a great opportunity to get an interview, but that can be said about anyone. I know many people who really haven't done a thing, and they all received interviews at MAC this year.