Premed 101 Forums

Rejected in Richmond Hill

Guest MDin2006

Guest MDin2006

I left class early today only to find a thin envelope waiting for me at home. This is my first time applying to McMaster and was the only school to which I had applied. I guess I'll have to do a fourth year of undergrad. :\

My GPA is 3.75. Is that too low? My GPA will be about the same by the end of this year, so should I even bother applying next year? In addition, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for volunteer positions that I should consider applying to for this summer. I volunteered in a hospital two years ago, but was diappointed as my job only required me to give water to the patients. You would think that a volunteer in the Adult Surgery Recovery area would be doing a bit more.

p.s. I guess I'll have to change my username as I will not be a doctor in 2006.......:lol

Guest Guess whoz Bizzak

MDin2006,

well, what can I say my fellow Richmond Hill bretherin....trust that I know how you feel - I had been there 3 times before I finally got an interview last year to Mac. With the GPA that you have, you definately have a great shot-like everyone keeps saying, GPA is only 50% of the struggle, and not even the most important 50%. Your personal statements (all 15 of them) are the most important thing, and I encourage you to take a serious look at them and think about ways you can improve. You have so much time ahead of you - I know, not what you want to hear - but it is true.