Premed 101 Forums

Should I commit to research in this lab?

Olle

Hey, I'm an undergrad (2nd year) and I'm volunteering for a neuroscience lab.

I'm starting to learn techniques like PCR, Gel Electrophoresis, liquid culturing etc. and I find it very useful so I am trying my best to learn and volunteer for them. 

The problem is that my lab tech expects me to eventually be able to take on some experiments or projects that I'm now uninterested in. (I was interested in neuroscience and I appealed that during my interview with my lab tech, but now I'm really interested in immunology & virology so I'll be seeking lab opportunities related to those fields in the coming months or years). I don't want to give up on this lab because its hard-earned, and I respect the people there. I also implied during the interview that I would like to volunteer until I graduate.   

So do you think I should take on the projects that she will eventually give me? Or should I tell her that I'm just interested in volunteering for them when the time comes?

Thanks.

13 minutes ago, Bambi said:

I would not commit to what does not interest you. Your time is limited. The truth will set you free - I would be honest with them as to the direction that interest you and let the chips fall where they may. 

And I should be honest to say that I have selfish intentions in trying to hold onto whatever this lab offers me: Long term commitment for my med school app ( I started since the summer of my first year). They think I'm interested in neurosci research, not medical school.

1 hour ago, Olle said:

And I should be honest to say that I have selfish intentions in trying to hold onto whatever this lab offers me: Long term commitment for my med school app ( I started since the summer of my first year). They think I'm interested in neurosci research, not medical school.