Premed 101 Forums

BHSc

Guest markvivid

Guest markvivid

Hi folks,

I know this topic was discussed in a really large, earlier thread. However, I'm new to this forum and just read that thread now...so sorry to bring something up that has been discussed ad nauseum already. However, I feel I NEED to say something about Mac's BHSc program...to clear its name a little :)

I just completed my second year in the BHSc program. I have a fairly decent GPA and am writing my MCAT this summer...who knows what that will bring! :) In the previous thread, there seemed to be a lot of people saying what they thought about the program, despite never having experienced it. I'd like to share some of my first-hand experiences.

Like every program and university, BHSc has its pros and cons.

Pros:

1. The people. This program attracts amazing students, both academically and extracuricullarly. Sometimes I sit in lecture and imagine (although I realize I have no experience...) that a class like this must be what a class in a professional program must be like. As well, there is very little competition. I think everyone in the programme is competitive with themselves ie they are motivated. But BHSc is based on PBL and group work, and that has fostered a sense of collaboration in our program. (here's a taste of the program: our 2nd year cell bio exam had a group component - that was the most enjoyable exam I've ever written).

2. The administration. We have a fantastic admin. By the end of first year, I was on a first-name basis with my dean. You can walk in, sit and talk with anyone, anytime. They are so friendly and always willing to talk. As well, the program is BASED on feedback, so we are constantly asked how our courses can be improved...and the admin ACTUALLY LISTENS!