Premed 101 Forums

Where to pay tax?

47 minutes ago, Dermviser said:

Hello

I'm an Ontario resident (ID and driver's license), but am doing my medical residency in Quebec. I was wondering where should I be paying my taxes? Would I be taxed under an Ontario or Quebec resident? Thank you.

You will be taxed as a Quebec resident if you are doing your residency in Quebec as it no longer qualifies as full-time postsecondary studies. 

7 hours ago, la marzocco said:

You will be taxed as a Quebec resident if you are doing your residency in Quebec as it no longer qualifies as full-time postsecondary studies. 

yup, it will be the province you are a resident of by their definitions on the last day of the year. 

1 hour ago, shematoma said:

Are you sure about this? Residents are full time students.

I should clarify as I wrote the above too quickly. 

Residents are both full-time students and full-time employees. As opposed to medical students where they are normally just full-time students. Historical jurisprudence confirms this view: 

• I do not find it illogical in reading Subsection 118(6) that a person can be both a full‑time student and a full‑time employee or even carry on his or her own business on a full‑time basis while a full‑time student. It is not the average person's preference but it is not an infrequent choice that many people, both residents and others, are compelled to make. (Kandasamy v. The Queen, 2014 TCC 47 (CanLII), <http://canlii.ca/t/g3rgl>)

For example, a OOP medical student studying in at a Quebec medical school must retain their home province's health insurance (i.e.,  OHIP for Ontarians going to study medicine at a Quebec medical school) and must retain the driving license from their home province for the during of their medical school studies. All of these facts point to the idea that OOP medical students are not considered residents of the province in which they are doing medical school in, but their own home province.