Premed 101 Forums

Should I retake the MCAT this summer or do other things?

ManInBlack

Hi everyone, I'm an Ontario Undergraduate student in 3d year of a Bachelors degree. This previous summer, I was studying for the MCAT, and took the exam in August. I did not score very well, after self-evaluation, I attribute my low score to mainly my lack of preparation and effort. I would study around 3 or maybe 4 hours a day, sometimes even less, when many of my friends were studying 8+ hours 5 days/week. I also had some compassionate things going on and I lost a close loved one that summer to Cancer and so I was feeling  really bad for 1 or 2 months. I didn't start practice exams till 3 and a half weeks before my test date. I was only doing one extracurricular weekly with my MCAT (started that in May) and started another good one in August (which is ongoing into the school year). I am by no means a weak student, I get fairly high marks in my University classes, but due to certain factors I just could not give the MCAT my all when I wrote it this year. Basically, that summer went by and I got a poor score, with not much else I did extracurricular wise. 

For the upcoming summer, I am thinking of a few options: 

1.) Retake the MCAT again (while doing little things on the side EC wise), basically what I did last summer but this time more focused and more effort towards MCAT

2.) Do a NSERC Position (save some money) and get valuable research experience, no MCAT this year (do it summer after graduating)

3.) Do the NSERC and also do the MCAT retake (study seriously for ~4-5 hours daily after the job), maybe will have to study a bit less since I have background from taking the exam once already 

I want advice on which of these 3 options would be suitable if you were in my shoes or if you have faced a similar situation yourself.

Thanks a lot