Premed 101 Forums

Reusing activities & more

So with this application I'm a little conflicted on how to best organize my activities. 

1. For the employment section, is it best to include activities that take place during the school year (showing ability to handle multiple responsibilities) or to also highlight work experience prior to university? The job that I did during school I would also like to include in the leadership section so I'm not sure if I should double list it or place it in one or the other.

2. Again with reusing activities, I have some life experiences that I would also like to also talk about in the personal highlights, is this a problem?

3. Are awards looked upon favorably in the life experience/achievements section or should I leave them out? I have some academic awards above the typical entrance scholarship/deans list.

4. Is LGBT stuff ok to talk about or would it be better to omit just in case?

5. Has anyone gotten in with 2 or 3 activities in one section and/or reusing activities with different descriptions?

Sorry for the giant list (I like lists lol) and thanks in advance for any help!

1) I wouldn't double list an activity unless one of the sections is the life highlights section, as that is more a place to expand and elaborate. If you have two different roles within the same organization or something akin to that, I think it would be appropriate to list it under any two sections, although I wouldn't call that double listing in the first place. There isn't really a right or wrong for putting activities during the school year or not- I would try to show as much diversity, commitment, and growth as possible. Sorry if that’s vague, but med school applications do have a large element of subjectivity!

2) As per my first point, I do think it would be okay to reuse things for the personal highlights section as it is more so a place to expand.