Premed 101 Forums

What To Do With 3.7 Gpa

kwyhan

Hello, 

Feel like I'm in a mid-life crisis (okay, maybe a little bit exagerrating :P).  

Pretty much, I feel like I have no chance at any professional schools. I'm not financially well off which honestly sucks, but I thought this time, I had to be realistic. I'm 23 and I gave up on med this year because of my lackluster MCAT score and truthfully, I don't have the confidence to score higher by January 2015. So disappointed in myself for the GPA's (cGPA: 3.69  best 2 years: 3.79)  Ive gotten during my undergrad years. Unfortunately, this summer I've just regretted a lot of things and been really down (These feelings are difficult to get rid of. It's often easier said than done). 

Canadian med and dental schools IN ONTARIO are pretty much done deals for me, as my undergrad GPA is done and can't be recovered.. Just so disappointing that because of my GPA & being an Ontario resident, I don't have a shot here.

I guess my dilemma is, do I continue to chase for this dream of mine (dent/med) with many failures and prehaps additional schooling before going into these schools or be realistic in that go into master's (Epidemiology) or pharm? I've been looking heavily into pharm and I will do my best if I do go into the program but I don't want to be working in Loblaws and other opportunities in Pharm are rare+ It's 4+ years of schooling (which is similar to med/dent).

I'm probably just going in circles and I know it's stupid to ask people online about what you should do with your life/future, but I've been on this forum for a while and I've received some comforting messages from some of you; People who are going similar things and share each other's stories and supporting each other have been really good to see on this forum. Anyway, I would appreciate any help you could provide me with.

Thanks!