Premed 101 Forums

Need Advice From Past/current Grad Students Who Are In Dent Right Now

Hi everyone!

This is gonna be a lenthy post, so please bear with me. I'm currently a first-year thesis-based Master's student in Pathology, but have alway wanted to get into dental school. I wrote the DAT a year ago with pretty decent grades for my first try (though I know that I can definitely do better, with more prep) so I'll have to re-write it again for my next application. I'm also an Ontario resident. Here are my stats:

cGPA from undergrad = 4.0 (is this incorrect? My overall GPA% is 88.34)
Top 2 years (for UWO) = 90.6%

Top 3 years with 4th year included (for UofT) = 88.23% (My fourth year was the worst due to family problems)

DAT Scores

Science: 21

RC: 22

AA: 21

PAT: 25

As a grad student, I have two questions:

1) Has anyone written the DAT while they were in grad school? This semester I was taking two courses on top of balancing lab work, and it's been brutal. My labmates - who are applying to med school and therefore have experience in studying for the MCAT - strongly recommend that I focus on my Master's and just take a few months off after I'm done to focus on studying for the DAT, but part of me also doesn't want to take a year off from school yet again. I did this after my undergrad and the idea of moving back home a third time just makes me cringe. Living at home is toxic for me for a number of reasons, so I want to avoid that option as much as possible...but is it worth studying all that material when I'm at the lab 5-7 days a week?

2) Also, how likely would my undergrad GPA + Master's land me an interview in Canadian schools? I've already been interviewed at UWO last year, and they only factor the grad school boost AFTER the interview (I asked)...how about the other  schools? I ask for UofT and McGill especially, as I'd rather stay as close to Ontario as possible.