Premed 101 Forums

ezboard get together

Guest mg83

I've noticed that some people have already expressed an interest in a little get together before school starts in other threads so I thought i'd start a new discussion for it. Seems like the most logical time would be the weekend before school starts (July 29-30). Most people should be in town on the Sunday I would imagine and plus the restaurants/bars will be less busy on Sunday as opposed to Saturday. I guess the where and when would probably be the other important details. I'm not from Calgary so I'm totally clueless on this front. Any suggestions?

Guest wylie348

Hey mg - I agree that the weekend before O-Week would be best, so the only thing is - where? I am a U of C grad and have my GSA lounge membership card - we could always meet there.

Looking forward to it!

:)

Guest wylie348

The GSA is the grad students association lounge, in MacEwan Hall. I think it is still there... :) and yes, they do serve beer, although there may not be a foosball table ...

The grad lounge is nice, I'd be up for that. There's always Moose's and the Keg across from the hospital, but I'm sure we'll see enough of those places in the next few years.

Other ideas...Kilkenny, Schanks...it's all good!

Guest jgray2

someone has to be a member of the grad lounge in order to invite people in. for example, anyone who has ever been a grad student at the u of c will still be an honorary member. even then, each member can only bring in 4 guests (i think). medical students are not grad students -- they pay undergrad student union fees.

www.fp.ucalgary.ca/GSA/lounge/lounge.htm

Guest wylie348

Yes, I am a member as I completed my MSc at U of C several years ago, and remember being allowed in after my thesis defense - Hooray!

So I can bring four guests eh? Well that includes Stalin, mg83, Happy, and HP - but anyone extra will have to have a grad membership!

Hopefully I did not miss anyone...