Premed 101 Forums

Med Onc/Rad Onc

Hi everyone, 

I am a third year undergrad going into my first year of medical school. I am not too sure which specialties I want to go in yet but I am very interested in oncology (it was the reason that I wanted to go into medicine in the first place). I was wondering if anyone has any insights into med onc/rad onc including: 

- hours

- salary

- how difficult it is to match into 

- what activities should I participate in to boost my chances 

Another question I had was when would be an appropriate time to reach out to people for observerships/research opportunities. Also I am really not sure what medical students look for in terms of research opportunities. I know undergrads do wet lab, sys reviews, and clinical studies (e.g recruiting participants, data entry etc) but not sure if as medical students we unlock new research opportunities lol. 

2 hours ago, Babypotato said:

Hi everyone, 

I am a third year undergrad going into my first year of medical school. I am not too sure which specialties I want to go in yet but I am very interested in oncology (it was the reason that I wanted to go into medicine in the first place). I was wondering if anyone has any insights into med onc/rad onc including: 

- hours

- salary

- how difficult it is to match into 

- what activities should I participate in to boost my chances 

Another question I had was when would be an appropriate time to reach out to people for observerships/research opportunities. Also I am really not sure what medical students look for in terms of research opportunities. I know undergrads do wet lab, sys reviews, and clinical studies (e.g recruiting participants, data entry etc) but not sure if as medical students we unlock new research opportunities lol. 

Med onc is a subspecialty of IM. You need to match to IM first and then do 3 years of IM priority starting a med onc fellowship.

Never too early to start shadowing. 

6 minutes ago, ChemPetE said: