Premed 101 Forums

My chances at Ontario Med Schools

justhoping

Hi there. Just trying to get a better understanding of my chances at Ontario med schools - I've really lost perspective on if I'm good enough over the last year and just want some opinions. Please be brutally honest.

I'm currently in my 3rd year of undergrad at UofT. GPA listed is OMSAS GPA predicting what I'll have at the end of this year (as a medium case scenario). 

cGPA: 3.87

UofT wGPA: 3.92

MCAT: Haven't written yet. Took the NS full length without studying last summer and got 506 (126/126/127/127) if that means anything.

Other info: very involved since my high school days, a few awards, Dean's list every year so far, leadership heavy, mentoring focused as well as women's empowerment, mental health advocacy, NSERC recipient, 2 poster presentations, 1 oral presentation, paper currently in review (just contributed supplemental material though so one of the last authors), long term sports involvement and captaining role too, working at a community center with refugee youth population, DON'T HAVE ANY CLINICAL EXPERIENCE/HOSPITAL VOLUNTEERING

Honestly, I'm really worried about my GPA mainly. I had a rough first semester this year because of mental health issues (ironic because of my ECs smh) but not completely awful as I didn't get anything below 80, but I got mostly 3.7s which brought down my cGPA a bit so idk if that warrants an academic explanations essay.

Just keep going and concentrate specifically on GPA for the rest of the term.  You realize already how important it is.   You also already recognize some schools using weighting.  Understand Queens and Westerns also.  Clinical and Hospital volunteering while common for premeds is not mandatory.  A lot is how your write up your ECs -- Google CanMeds and center around that.   Write MCAT late summer and see where you are GPA/MCAT-wise in the fall.   You can do it !