Premed 101 Forums

Opinions on if I should even continue with this path at this point?

Hi All, 

I have always wanted to pursue medicine, but events over the last coupe of years have made me feel like I no longer have a chance. 

I was an international student on a scholarship that lost it after my dad got ill with a terminal illness half way through my second year of University and my grades started dropping. I was his primary care giver for a little over a year till he passed away. I had to work while he was sick to pay tuition and also utilities/bills so my grades really suffered. After he passed away I continued to work odd jobs to put myself through school. I have a number of W's on my transcript and a couple of part time semesters because I couldn't afford to pay for a full  course load. 

I'm looking into doing a second degree but I dont know if this will change much for me. It will only take me 12 courses to get a BHSc and UofC admissions say they will use only my first year and then the year I complete if i take a full course load. 

For EC's I worked as a babysitter/housekeeper for most of my undergrad but not all the hours are verifiable because they were a lot of odd jobs

Other than that

Supportive Roommate for adult with neurological disorders - 1000 hours

Caregiver for newborn with neurological disorder - 400 hours

Caregiver for autistic child - 240 hours

Founder of nonprofit for disadvantaged teens - 500 hours

Chair on committee at Dying with dignity - 80 hours (Will be up to 200 hours if I apply next year)

Tutoring Highschool + Freshman Math/Chemistry/Biology - 300 hours 

Campus rep for Girl Rising - 200 hours 

Peer support at university - 50 hours

Undergrad mentor at university - 100 hours 

Freshman rep at university - 150 hours

Volunteer at Mustard seed - 150 hours 

Own my own small business - 500 hours 

Caring for my dad - approximately 2000 hours of active time (not sure if i should add this since it is a family member)