Premed 101 Forums

Some basic questions: demand, difficulty and success rate

Guest CASTLECASCADE

Guest CASTLECASCADE

Hello everyone..... :D

I am new to this forum. These question i'm gonna ask might be pretty basic.

1, I've heard that medicine and pharmacy professions are in high demand in Canada. And there won't be any trouble finding jobs once you graduate (from medschool or pharm school). Is it the same for dentistry? Is it easy to find stable jobs? I know dental care is not covered in OHIP (i live in ontario). Does that make the profession any less in demand? (what i need to know is a basic comparison among these three professions).

2, As opposed to medschool admission (which requires voluntary work, extracurriculars, essays etc), most dentistry schools (u of t, specifically) mainly look at the GPA and DAT only. Even then, is it so hard to get in to dentistry school?

I am in first year undergrad and hope to get close to 3.8 in first year (if i go like this). And since DAT is mainly science and then some perceptual ability (and if i go to prep. courses, read DAT books etc), can't i count myself on getting in to dentistry (if it is very hard to get in, i should be looking for some back up plans like pharmacy).

3, And specifically.....what is the percentage success rate of getting in to dentistry(how many apply and how many get in?)

HELP ME............. :(

I'm sure others can answer you questions better. I'll just make a few comments. Dentists make more money than doctors on average so as far as being in demand, they are!

Getting in to UofT is not easy and nothing is a sure thing. UofTs average is usually above a 3.8 on the OMSAS scale.

That being said, with a 3.8 and a good score on the DAT, it seems like you'd have to be really socially inept to not get in at at least one school. Don't mess up the interview.