Premed 101 Forums

Canadian student GPA conversion from the percentage grading system

Hello everyone,

I'm a Canadian student currently in the process of applying to dental schools in the United States. I'm facing a perplexing issue regarding GPA conversion from the percentage grading system used in Canada, and I'm hoping to find some clarity and assistance within this community.

In Canada, we typically receive grades in the form of percentages throughout our academic journey. However, US dental schools require a GPA for admissions, which has left me feeling uncertain and bewildered.

What complicates matters further is that the GPA conversion from percentage can vary across different institutions in the US. Some schools utilize a 4.0 scale, while others employ a 4.3 or even a 4.5 scale. I find it difficult to grasp how a straightforward percentage can be transformed into such diverse and complex scales.

To give you an example, let's say I have an 89% average in my undergraduate studies. In Canada, this is considered an excellent grade. However, I've been informed that an 89% might be perceived as a 3.0 on a 4.0 scale in the US. This seems counterintuitive and somewhat disheartening, as I would have expected a higher equivalence in the 3.7-3.9 range.

If anyone knows anything concerning this topic I would really appreciate your input!

Initially the GPA system can be a bit confusing! It helps if you understand the overall point - the Canadian system is based on percentages for the most part which is a measure of raw performance in any course. Pretty easy to understand.