Premed 101 Forums

ROL Internal Medicine CaRMS 2024 - Insights on programs?

Hey everyone! 

I am a UBC student applying to IM across the country. I didn't go OOP of electives, and feel like I am going in blind for ROL and am feeling quite anxious about it. I thought after the interviews/info sessions I would have a better sense of things, but I don't feel informed enough to be making these RoL decisions. I have been looking online and can't seem to find any discussions in recent (the past 1-2 years) and I know many programs have had changes.

I would appreciate any insight into perceptions and experiences with the various programs across Canada, including those at UBC. 

I am also wondering if anyone can comment on the average cost of living in the areas residents usually live for a given program if possible. 

Thank you SO much in advance :)

• IlovepugsBC changed the title to ROL Internal Medicine CaRMS 2024 - Insights on programs?

I can speak to Sask IM 

- Living costs are decent, rent ~$1500 for a good studio/one bedroom 

- Residents are super friendly, close knit and do a fair amount of things together

- Program was recently fully accredited

- One of the few IM programs were CTU in first year operates on night float system

- Paper charting

- relatively busy, decent cases, especially from rural areas

Feel free to PM if you have any specific questions as well

I was at UWO for 9 years (not in IM residency), and the problem there is the 3 hospitals are scattered around the city, UH is north end, SJH in middle, VH down at south end, so it can be a pain to drive around the different sites. I remember on hematology, had to drive from VH to UH for consults then drive back to VH, pain in the back. Obviously I am out of date so I don't know how things work there now.