Premed 101 Forums

question regarding undergraduate studies

Guest someone who is confused

Guest someone who is confused

hi and i am back with a question .. actually i am studying for my HSSC in my country that is Higher Secondary School Certificate ..It makes two years of college and i am studying the premedical subjects that is biology,physics,chemistry,english and two more.. Do i still need to complete any other undergraduate course in canada before applying to a medical school in canada and secondly do University of Calgary offers the undergraduate courses which are required before applying for the MD programme

I hope that you will help me.. looking forward to your reply

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

...and secondly do University of Calgary offers the undergraduate courses which are required before applying for the MD programme
If I'm understanding you correctly, you're wondering if U. of Calgary offers typical medical school pre-requisite courses, e.g., biochemistry, organic chemistry, etc.? Yes, they do.

Cheers, and best of luck with your applications,

Kirsteen

Guest aneliz

All Canadian med schools require you to have *at least* two years of undergrad studies done and most require three or four years completed. Even though the Alberta schools theoretically accept applicants after 2 years, this is not common...there are very few people that get in after only 2 years. And, I am not sure that any Canadian school will grant you 2 WHOLE YEARS of transfer credits for your HSSC. Just because it is recognised as equivalent to 2 years of college in your country, doesn't mean that a Canadian school will give you equivalent transfer credits. You will need to check that out with the school in question.

Bottom line: I would be very surprised if you would be able to apply to med, in Canada, directly from your HSSC. Call the schools that you are interested in and ask.

Guest avisee