Hello.

I'm enrolled in science program, and

I will be doing

Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Calculus

and one elective for the first year.

I'm not sure what will be my best choice

my options are:

- Chinese (I'm completely new to this)

- Writing for ESL students (since I'm considered to be an ESL)

*ESL : English as a Second Language

Both of them are from the faculty of arts

and I'm just wondering if it is better to learn

new language or try to do something

that will help me throughout university

even though it is less interesting

(my writing skill is very bad)

But my concern is that

1. Is it harder to get good mark in writing course?

2. Will med-school considered that credit as an art credit (humanity) when there is other course called

writing for univ. students?(the course is also for first year

and is open to everyone)

Guest UTStudent03

Hi,

Learning a new language is pretty cool, but that being said... The writing course may be more beneficial to you during your university career, especially if in later years you take courses that require alot of writing. I took an english writing course in first year and it was a good learning experience. If your writing skills are weak then a writing course will help you out alot, as it did for me. And the course was, suprisingly, not boring at all!

As for the marks aspect, I really can't say if it's harder to achieve good marks in a writing class. If you put in the work, you'll get results; if you don't, you probably won't do as well. For a writing class though the profs are trying to help you improve so I don't think they'll be trying to make half the class fail or anything like that.

As for the med school part of your question, I would think the course would be considered an art credit but it would be best to check with the schools themselves.

Good luck.

Guest Lorae