Premed 101 Forums

3rd year med school

Guest mamnrkr

Guest mamnrkr

Hey guys,

I was wondering if any of the current people in med school could tell me what 3rd and 4th year are like at Dal?

I've heard all the horror stories about rotations and nasty residents and night calls and 36 hour work slots...

I was kinda hoping someone could tell me the real deal...

Guest JewelLeigh

I'm in 2nd year, so I cannot speak about clerkship from firsthand experience, but since the 3rd years are very busy and likely won't be able to reply for awhile, I'll tell ya what I know so far.

First, the basics:

3rd year

All students do mandatory rotations through all the major specialties. This includes:

- Obstetrics/Gynecology 6 weeks

- Pediatrics 6 weeks

- Surgery 9 weeks (3 weeks general surgery + two 3 week selectives within the surgical specialties)

- Emergency 3 weeks

- Family medicine 6 weeks

- Psychiatry 6 weeks

- Internal Medicine (4 weeks in the Medical Teaching unit, MTU, + two 4 week selectives within the medical specialties)

Rotations are often in Halifax, but also take place at other locations around the Maritimes. 1 of the two internal medicine selectives may take place at any academic centre in Canada.

4th year

Fall - 12 weeks for electives. These are rotations in any area of medicine desired, in any location desired (provided you have a licensed physician to supervise). Electives are preparation for residency, and as such, most students do their electives at the locations and in the area of medicine that they hope to do for residency.

Jan - for now there is 3 weeks or so off to fly around the country doing CaRMS interviews.

Feb-Apr - Continuing and Preventative Care - four 3 week rotations that must be more clinic/community-based than hospital-based. 1 of the rotations much be in Halifax and is called "Care of the Elderly." Also in Feb, find out residency program through CaRMS.

May - write licensing exam and graduate

July - begin residency