Premed 101 Forums

GPA and special students

Guest Talon01

Guest Talon01

Hello All!

When Queens calculates your GPA do they use only your final year when offering admissions? I'm currently IN my 4th year right now and my GPA for my third year was 3.57 (on the button I think) and this year it's a bit higher. When I apply to Queens next year will they only look @ my 4th year marks? I DO plan on taking another year next year of just random undergrad courses. Will Queens look down upon this decision? Will Queens use my 4th year marks to decide to grant me a decision and then use my 4th year and 'special' year to see if I'm above their 3.57 cutoff?

I hope this question makes sense.

Thanks in advance.

~Scotty

Guest PhantomPhoenix

I believe it is either ur cumulative they use or the last two years before u apply...meaning that courses in the year u apply won't be used for consideration.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest Talon01

Can anyone confirm this for me?

Do I need 2 years above the cutoff BEFORE applying or can I have one year above the cutoff, apply, get an interview, get accepted, finish the year of undergrad I would currently be enrolled in and if it's also above the cutoff attend the school.

Guest Ian Wong

I would contact them and find out directly. Ultimately, they are the ones who will be analyzing your situation, and will be the best-placed to advise you. Good luck! :)

Ian

UBC, Med 4

Yeah, their admissions office doesn't seem too responsive. I called them to say that I need to reschedule my interview [my Queen's and U of T interviews are in conflict] and they told me to email them. Fine. So I emailed them, and they're ignoring me...

Guest devomcd

Peachy,

I'm in the same boat as you (U of T/ Queen's conflict-March 2nd) and I also attempted to reschedule Queen's, except I went to the Admissions Office in person and was told to send an email. So, I sent the email on Monday and still no response as of today (Wednesday).