Premed 101 Forums

Entering with specialty

doctur

Hello, I was wondering if you could tell me what the process would be like if I graduated from an international medical school and did residency to become an ophthalmogist at that country? Would I need to just pass the USMLE exams and receive license to practice in the US or Canada? Or would I have to also match into a residency program? If so what is the reason for that? And how long will it normally take for me to be able to start practice here?

Thanks!

There is no straightforward answer to your question.

In Canada, many medical schools and residency programs from non-Canadian countries are not recognized. It is for this reason why you hear of stories of internationally-trained physicians living in Canada doing all sorts of non-medical work, because they are unable to be licensed to practice in Canada.

The USMLE series of exams are typically written during medical school and after the first year of residency, and therefore are not specialty-specific. The USMLE exams are US exams. As far as I'm aware, having passed those exams confers no advantage when trying to practice in Canada; far more important is that you have completed residency training in a country/institution that the Canadian Royal College or College of Family Physicians recognizes.

If this has occurred, then there may be pathways by which you can eventually become licensed to practice in Canada.

Bottom line, if you are trying to practice in Canada, it would be best to attempt to do both med school and residency here.

The second best option by far would be to do your med school and residency in the US, as all US MD schools are LCME-accredited, and the residency programs are ACGME-accredited, giving you the best chance of having that training recognized back in Canada.