Premed 101 Forums

Nurses to Doctors

Guest Nurse2Md

Guest Nurse2Md

Hey all,

I just wanted to know how many nurses turned doctors exist out there. I'm in my 4th year and I am thinking about applying to medical school next year.

Are nurses given equal consideration in the application process? I also would like to know how any nurses did on their MCATs? How did you find the test?

Sometimes I feel a little guilty applying to medical school; like I'm a traitor or something.

Can anyone out there answer my question please?|I

Hi Nurse2Md,

I think there are a lot of people in your current situation. You should not be ashamed for wanting to become a doctor, it does not make you a traitor or anything! If anything, you experiences with patients in a medical setting can only help you! However, you should be cautioned that medical schools will most likely question your decision for a career switch, so as long as you are prepared to defend your reasons for choosing medicine over nursing, I am sure you would be fine. This often comes up when people are switching from a medically unrelated career, such as engineering, as well.

Also, there are a lot of people on these boards that are in medical school from a nursing background (Nurse Nathalie comes to mind as an active poster). I am sure they would be happy to answer any of your questions.

However, since this forum is not used to much (there was apparently hacker who caused the forum to lose a lot of old posts) try posting your same post (or ask the mods to move it for you) in the Temporary General Premed Discussions listed at the top of this page. A lot more people post on those boards, and they are more stable.

Since I am not in nursing, I couldn't be much help, but good luck!

Snew :)

Guest booty911

Hey there,