Premed 101 Forums

So what happens after the interview...?

Hi there!

I'm fairly new to this, so I apologize if this question has been asked a thousand times before (and I am sure it has:)

Could someone englighten me as to what happens once you've been granted an interview at Ottawa? i.e. how are you scored AFTER the interview?

and

Is it true that if you meet the cut off you are guaranteed an interview?

Thanks so much for any insight!

M.

Okay, so this is my understanding of how the system works (Disclaimer: I am no expert, this is just the information I have heard/gleaned through the grapevine):

1. They calculate your WGPA and if you make the cut-off then your application proceeds to the next step.

2. They send the sketches out to an external company which rates them somehow. I'm not sure if you are picked for the interview on the basis of your sketch (i.e. GPA is not a factor), or sketch and GPA.

3. In January last year they emailed the interview invites.

4. At your interview three people grade you. You end up with a mark out of 4.

5. They then list all the interviewees by their grade out of 4 with a sub ranking on their GPA. The top candidates are accepted.

Hope that helps. Try and enjoy your time until January, and save your pennies, med school is expensive :) .

Hi there!

I'm fairly new to this, so I apologize if this question has been asked a thousand times before (and I am sure it has:)

Could someone englighten me as to what happens once you've been granted an interview at Ottawa? i.e. how are you scored AFTER the interview?

and

Is it true that if you meet the cut off you are guaranteed an interview?

Thanks so much for any insight!

M.

Meeting the wGPA cut-off does not guarantee you an interview. It allows you to proceed to the next step which is review of your sketch and letters of reference. Don`t remember numbers but the year I applied I think about 800-some people met the cut-off.