Premed 101 Forums

Working for Alberta STAR as a physician?

Hey all,

I am actually not in medicine (I'm a 3rd year undergrad) but I have a question that might require the expertise of someone directly in the field. I was wondering how one would go about working for the Shock/Trauma Air Rescue team? You're going to have to forgive my ignorance by asking such a broad question, but I'm really not sure about any of the processes once you're in medicine let alone going about to work for a particular organization.

Also, I was wondering if anyone can tell me what is like to work for them? To my understanding, you have to be an ER doc [in which someone told me, you can do that by either picking family med with an ER subspecialty or doing your residency in ER]?

I've actually really been into aviation, but I had to put my flying on hold because of university (I definately don't have the money to do both at the same time), but eventually, I would like to apply for medicine, and if I do manage to get in, I figure that would a good combination. I know that STARs fly helicopters and not fixed winged aircrafts, but I can live with the compromise of just being up there in the air again :D

Anyways, thanks for the comments!

Hey there,

The STARs guys often land their helicopter in the landing pad outside our school. One of our classmates did a bit of a rotation with STAR where he hung out in the helicopter with them.

As far as I'm aware, they have paramedical training, but obviously one or more in the crew needs to be able to pilot a chopper. :)

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Yeah, while I was in Calgary studying for the MCAT (I'm actually a Saskatchewan resident who was just doing an NSERC at the UofC), I would go to the Health Science Building to study for it, just to get a sense of familiarity of where I would be writing it, and one day I saw the STAR helicopter land, and I think at that moment I was thinking "That is what I want to do!"