Premed 101 Forums

Non-traditional Applicant-- Need Advice

Guest bibibab

Guest bibibab

Need some advice please...

I'm a recent pharmacy grad working full-time in retail. My original plan was to start grad school after I off my loans, but after having working for a while, I changed my mind. Now I want med school.

Unfortunately, unlike my other classmates who knew that they wanted to do medicine during undergrad, I focused too much on extra-curricular research. My GPA was @#$^% low: 2.5, 3.6, 3.3, 2.7 (the 2.7 was from the first semester of 4th year only; the 2nd semester of my last year was clinical rotation based on a pass/fail basis). I did several research projects during undergrad and would probably make a good candidate for grad school, but now that I've changed my mind...

Now, a little bit about my background:

Before pharmacy, I did 2 years of CEGEP in Quebec (my marks in CEGEP were in the mid-80s, anyone know of any schools that weigh CEGEP marks more heavily than others?) No undergrad experience before pharmacy school.

What would be your advice for me? Should I do a masters to improve my overall GPA? Or go back to do 2 years of undergrad in another field? (maybe psychology? other suggestions?) I'm even willing to relocate to do my masters so that I could apply as in-province student in both the new province and my home province. How many med schools count masters GPA anyway? Most schools I've looked at would add 1 point to masters studies instead of counting the masters GPA, whatever that means (?!). My CEGEP and Pharmacy courses have already fulfilled the pre-requisites for most med schools, so as far as pre-req goes, I'll probably have to stick with those marks...