Premed 101 Forums

February Dat: atten visceral

Hey visceral!

I saw your DAT scores, congrats those are amazing! I saw you made a suggestion as to what you used to study for biology (Schaum's Outline of Biology). I took the kaplan course in the summer and I'm studying again for the DAT (review) right now preparing myself for the February DAT session and I'm studying from the Kaplan materials provided. My question is with regards to biology and how in depth you studied. My other question is with regards to chem, do I need to know definitions that are bolded in the Kaplan book or should I just know the formulas and how to apply them to solve problems?

If anyone besides visceral has any suggestions, they are also welcome. I'm really nervous, I feel like it is a waste to study now because I know in about a week I'm going to forget everything. How did people cope with this, or am I just doomed???

-wisdom tooth

Hey dude,

Thanks a lot.

About the biology, I would have to say that Schaum's gives you the perfect level of depth to know. So although it may sound daunting, knowing almost all of the material in there will prepare you well. Except for plants and taxonomy, where I think knowing the basics of each kingdom is good, and then for mammalia knowing the characteristics of each phylum and how they compare to eachother. The embryogenesis aspects of each phylum I found to be important, and it helps to understand embryogenesis in general. Do not go overboard since biology can really burn you out. I would say I spent 80% of my time on biology, and it’s only a fifth of the exam.

Like to be honest, biology is a crapshoot, and I have always thought that to do well on the DAT, you need luck too. They could have asked me 10 questions on areas of biology I was not strong in, but fortunately there was a lot of genetics/cell bio on my DAT, and I do better on those areas.