Premed 101 Forums

UBC vs UofA

hey

im new to the forum but i thought i would join. i think the emails have gone out because i did receive one that granted admission to UBC, i was happy but im kind of in a dilemma and would like some advice

i am a UofA student and it seems ubc wants a 9000 deposit before the UofA interviews are even held and i have an interview there as well and i really like both schools, so i would pretty much have to forefit my ubc seat to wait for UofA. any advice on this??? is ubc a lot better than u of a???

thanks

shocker

Well, from another perspective you can say UBC helps ensure those who want to come to UBC gets to because those who are not as committed may not be willing to pay the deposit, ie. premeds. It even helps those who are applying to other schools as a number of my classmates cancelled their interviews elsewhere once they were accepted at UBC.

Finally, all forfeited deposits go to student bursaries.

Well, from another perspective you can say UBC helps ensure those who want to come to UBC gets to because those who are not as committed may not be willing to pay the deposit, ie. premeds. It even helps those who are applying to other schools as a number of my classmates cancelled their interviews elsewhere once they were accepted at UBC.

Finally, all forfeited deposits go to student bursaries.

If UBC offered spots at the same time as other schools, then then people who attended UBC would be those that chose it over all other schools, rather than those held hostage by a ridiculous non-refundable deposit.

Simple as that.

if you could be given the offer by UBC, that means you are top 40 out of Canada, almostly.

since you will have high piroity for UAlberta, you would be qualified enough to get in UA for sure.

Almost NO students who got into UBC then didn't get into their own province dental schools.

Hey Shocker,