Premed 101 Forums

help me: nurse who wants to be a dentist

i am a nurse for now but want to be a dentist. living in winnipeg,manitoba. any suggestions nybody or is there sumbdy who wz a nurse and now into dentistry?

There was a nurse in my dental class as well as the class ahead of me. Pretty common.

Make sure you have the pre-reqs, write the DAT, and apply.

roger that, a doctors wife who used to live where I'm from got into UofM dentistry a few years ago, was a nurse i believe... apply under the special category where you have to write an essay to go along with your application, its all in the application bulletin put out every year around January available from the faculty's website or from university center admissions office on the fourth floor within the UofM.

For most schools, your undergraduate degree is irrelevant. As long as you are a competitive applicant - good DAT scores, good GPA, etc, you will have an opportunity. In my class, I have colleagues in Commerce, Education, Insurance, Pharmacy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Biology, etc.

You should focus on those components I mentioned above.

Good luck with the application process and do post any questions you may have. This is a good time as a lot of people just went through interviews, etc and are still around on this forum.

Well, that does happen. You prepare as much as you can and you draw from your experiences and knowledge. Remember, this is just like any other hurdle they threw at you - GPA, DAT.

Some people do get stuck and never pass the interview stage. However, others manage to overcome it. At least your fall-back career isn't bad either. Some people have no backup plan.

well i think i m ok with pre requisites, i mean i can do good in my GPA . but the thing tht scares me is an interview.what if i cant get through this interview ??/:( :confused:

I interviewed applicants this year. Trust me. You REALLY have to screw it up to "not get past" the interview.

Hey Dr. Drill,