Premed 101 Forums

Finish my degree or not?

Hi, I was woundering, I applied in other program this year (dentistry, pharm and opto). If I get in one of these 3, do I increase my chances getting in med school or should I finish my degree and apply as a 4th year student?

I'm not too sure I understand your situation YK4, are you a 3rd year Science student right now? Have you already applied to med school? Why did you apply to these other disciplines?

Cheers,

wassabi

Not content with the lack of focus in his/her own life, the OP has already asked a similar question in a similarly incoherent manner in the general forum:

http://www.premed101.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21131

That thread seems to have degenerated into a bit of mayhem. I'm not sure that we need an encore.

pb

Yes, I am a 3rd year student. I applied at ottawa, I did not receive an interview. But i received one in montreal.

One of these 3 should give me a better preparation for med school right because they are a related field?

to ploughboy

I already did 3 med interviews when I applied from the cegep and did not get in. I want to get in so bad (like everyone) and I don't know if I should go into a related field and continue trying for med. This way, I know that in 4 years, I will have done something that I might use it (I am thinking about optometry). I do not want to do a master in science.

Hi,

When I graduated from CEGEP, I thought that optometry would be a viable second option to medicine. I was accepted into pre-optometry and spent a semester in the program. I was absolutely miserable because I felt that I had prematurely abandoned my goal of becoming a physician. Optometry is very different from medicine and you should seriously think about whether it is a viable second option for you.