Premed 101 Forums

anyone have occupational therapy stats?

I'm looking into this for a friend, and I can't seem to find too much info on occupational therapy schools in terms of their admission gpa stats, salary, and various other general types of info. I checked out websites for schools, but unless the info is hidden somwhere, I really haven't found stats for admissions. Has anyone else come across any useful info i can show her?

I'm an OT that graduated from UBC. When I graduated (1999) it was a degree program but I guess all schools in North America are now Masters. So you require a degree to get in. I'm sure the stats have changed a bit and just like medical school it depends on which school you are looking at getting into. They all have different criteria and number of seats. When I got into UBC there were 35 seats available and about 250 or so had applied that year. They interview twice as many as they accept (so 70 were interviewed for 35 spots). Everyone has different backgrounds and degrees they came in with. I had a Biology degree, many had Kinesiology and a few Psych. Out of the 35 of us, there were only 5 or so males in my class. I had to have done at least 70 hours of person related/medical volunteer work. At least a B+ average....and there were some prerequistes like Stats, Biology, etc....(each school slightly different).

You have potential to make more money if you work privately and/or in worker disability rehab. In the hospital system in BC you make up to about 65,000 gross per year for full-time work...maybe a little more...

I know some private OTs that make closer to 100,000/year.

You can leave your work at work (not take it home with you) which is nice....or some private OTs actually work out of their homes (writing up case reports after consults etc...)

and good benefits and start out with 4 weeks paid vacation per year.....(after 5 years of working, an extra vacation day is added on each year)....