Premed 101 Forums

RE: Post by RICKtheDentist

Originally Posted by RicktheDentist

I think there should only be two reasons why you pursue a Master's Degree

1) You really want to do one

2) Your marks are too low and you want to be more competitive.

I worked for two years after my undergrad. I had lots of interesting experiences I could talk about during my interviews. Also working allows you to pay off some debt and have some fun. Just something you should consider when going down the Master's route......

Rick.

That is sort of a misinformed post.

I agree with you Rick about wanting to do a Master's and then yea sure, pursue one.

I STRONGLY disagree with you about having low grades and applying to dentistry and getting in JUST because you have a master's. I have a friend (a master's student) who didnt even get an interview at U of T but, ended up getting into UBC even though he had a master's. WHY??? U of T places a STRONG emphasis on grades but, UBC has an essay, 3 reference letters e.t.c. i.e., U of T admissions process is NOT as comprehensive as you alluded to in your post.

Secondly, I am very sure that the grades of the master's students at U of T dentistry are way up to par with undergrads. According to U of T grade scale, undergrads who're in their 4th year or 3rd years have only 2 yrs that are cumulated towards the average that admissions look at. HOWEVER, master's students have 3 yrs that are cumulated. So in the end, it can be advantageous or disadvantageous depending on how you did.

LASTLY, U of T dentistry has:

1) NO ESSAYS to communicate the experiences gained during the course of a master's degree

2) NO GRAD PACKAGE unlike U of T meds

2) NO referee letters from the master's students committee

3) No CV that needs to be handed in