Premed 101 Forums

Wanted: Honest Opinions Please

Need HELP!!!

I am hoping to get into dental school next year (either in Canada or the US) can you give your opinion or tips on what I should do to have a chance of getting in, and if you think I might have a chance.

I finished my Honors BSc in psych; thesis on dental anxiety (in the process of being published by CPA); overall ave is 80.4% (don't know what it would be in gpa) with my best two years 85%. I wrote the DAT this Feb and need to rewrite Reading: 18, Academic Ave: 17, Perception 16 and Carving: really bad (8).

Please let me know what you think, I could really use the help. Thanks!!

Your best two years average of 85% is definitely good enough to get you into Western, or any other schools that look at best two years (Dalhousie also I think). As far as your cumulative average goes, you have a shot at some places like UBC, but places like Toronto might not be realistic (this year the average GPA for U of T is 3.94 which is almost 90%).

As far as the DAT goes, it's definitely a good idea that you're re-writing :). If you want to do well on carving you need to practice practice practice. Get the CDA soap, and time yourself (take it as seriously as you would the academic portion). Just to let you know, some places (like Western) don't look at carving, but doing badly on carving only limits your options. As far as the other sections go, try to aim for 20 or better.

About the interviews: take the interview preparation as seriously as you would studying for a test (like the DAT) and practice practice practice. Also, your thesis sounds cool, you should defnitely talk about it during your interviews.

Good luck! :D

Hey! Just do well on the DAT and you'll likely get an interview. If you're applying to the States, make sure you have all the pre-reqs. Then its up to you to shine in that interview. I would even bring that published paper to the interview...it might impress them! Goodluck!