Premed 101 Forums

A car... insurance, etc!

Hey guys!

I thought i could possibly get insight from other med students... Who have gone through my way already... I'm entering 1st year in the fall 2007. Or whoever else has done some research on the subject.

So, I'll be relying mostly on finances from LOC and OSAP for the next 4 years. Here's the deal... I want to get a car, because i pretty much NEED a car.

Now, i Hear that osap cuts you back a lot for a car... I've never had OSAP before, so I have no clue! But ya, I hear it cuts you back A LOT if you have a car, any insights?

But that raises many questions... If i put the car in my parent's name... I fall under their insurance policy... if such, the car is in their name, would i qualify for a Grad discount (on a brand new car), if the car goes under my dad's name?

If I decide to do this on my own, and buy the car in my name... Are there good insurance companies who recognize i'm a med student and get perks? Cause I still fall under the "risky" category... of being under 25, and a guy! hehe

Any insight? I'm sort of thinking the car should be in my dad's name, to get cheaper insurance, and not mess up my OSAP situation... does anyone agree with this??

Thanks!

Paul

I worked for OSAP through my undergrad and saw many cars make folks' OSAP go *poof* and disappear. Putting it in your father's name will fix this if you have been out of high school for at least 4 years. You're mentioning a grad discount. Those are usually on new cars. Are you sure that you need a new car? I'm in a similar situation so I'm looking for a $1-$2G used car. New cars are expensive to begin with and to keep the warranty require specific care (read not cheap :D)

My 2 cents.