Premed 101 Forums

seeking advice on which schools I should apply to

Hi everyone,

I am a recent graduate with the following numbers

GPA: 3.8 - 3.85 (I haven't calculated it using the American conversion yet)

MCAT: 13PS/13V/14BS/ M

The "M" for the writing section will keep me out of many Canadian schools, and I'm afraid my GPA does not meet the cut offs for some schools in my province. But as I would only consider retaking the MCAT as the very last resort, now I am thinking that I may actually have a better chance of getting into American medical schools than my own provincial medical schools! :eek:

I've realized this only recently (!) and am now researching more about medical schools in the US. I was wondering if anybody could give me suggestions on which schools I should be applying to, because honestly I don't personally know anyone who's been through this process and I'm hopelessly clueless. Which schools do you think would be appropriately considered dream schools, realistic shots, and backups? Thanks a lot!

Don't count out Canadian schools... I too had an 'M' in my writing sample score and managed to snag interviews at U of Alberta, U of Calgary, and McMaster (considered in-province Alberta applicant). The remainder of my stats were not as impressive as yours, either.

Good luck!

Hi everyone,

I am a recent graduate with the following numbers

GPA: 3.8 - 3.85 (I haven't calculated it using the American conversion yet)

MCAT: 13PS/13V/14BS/ M

The "M" for the writing section will keep me out of many Canadian schools, and I'm afraid my GPA does not meet the cut offs for some schools in my province. But as I would only consider retaking the MCAT as the very last resort, now I am thinking that I may actually have a better chance of getting into American medical schools than my own provincial medical schools! :eek: