Premed 101 Forums

Is this a good plan for my pre-med at UBC?

Hello, I am currently a grade 12 student in BC, and I am considering to attend UBC next year. I would consider myself a fairly good student with an overall average of around 95%, so I think I should not have any problems being accepted into any program.

I am considering pursuing medicine as I am very interested in human physiology. However, I am also very passionate about computers and computer programming, so I am thinking about getting a combined major/honours in computer science and biology or possibly even a double major.

How much more work and effort would a combined major take to maintain a high GPA? If I decided to be involved in a co-op program, would I still be able to graduate in 4 years and have enough time to do the extra-curricular things required for acceptance into med school? I guess I could use the computer science part as a backup just in case I do not get accepted into med school, but since med school is my first priority, would this be a detriment to my pre-med education and acceptance?

Hello, I am currently a grade 12 student in BC, and I am considering to attend UBC next year. I would consider myself a fairly good student with an overall average of around 95%, so I think I should not have any problems being accepted into any program.

I am considering pursuing medicine as I am very interested in human physiology. However, I am also very passionate about computers and computer programming, so I am thinking about getting a combined major/honours in computer science and biology or possibly even a double major.