Premed 101 Forums

Need advice for application to enter in 2009

Hi guys,

I need advice from those of you who have been accepted or at UBC or had applied before or going to apply:

1>. I will take my MCAT this coming Jan 25th. I am taking 3 weeks off work to study. It's pretty good except verbal i guess. English is not my first language and reading is not my thing. Practice scores between 7 to 8 and sometimes 9 on verbal.

How important is it the MCAT for UBC applicants? After the MCAT, i don't think i will never want to take it again. I hope i can do well. It just took so much out of my life last year.

2>. My background: I am a pharmacist that has been working for 5 years. Has not had a lot of volunteer activity other than 5 years in music ministry as song leader and back up singer. Just recently starting trying hospital volunteer and being a big brother. Will be going home to Singapore to volunteer in hospital for 5 weeks.

I think i did pretty well in school. Definitely not a nerd. I did get a lot of A's in almost every year. Maybe GPA of around 3.5 or 3.6 max

3>. When do you think i should start getting all my transcripts ready (i need to contact 2 colleges and UBC pharmacy for this).

I plan to write my autobio essay as soon as i finish my MCAT. However, i don't finish my volunteer thing which i plan around the summer where i will be going back to Singapore to do it.

4>. Are you allowed to send anything early eventhough the registration is not yet open? What happen if they lose your file?

In what month, does registration open usually?

5>. What advice would you guys give me after i finish my MCAT? I know i will celebrate and watch all BluRay movies i bought since last year but hasn't got a chance to watch them.

I am thinking of going back to work of course, but what other things?

i haven't been accepted but did apply this year.