Premed 101 Forums

GPAs are making me dizzy! I'm joining you all on this roller coaster ride...

Hello all!

I recently decided to take the plunge and apply to medical school. This year I can only apply to McMaster because I'm missing pre-reqs and there's NO WAY that I'll be able to write the MCAT this summer. I'm 30 years old. I graduated with my first degree (not science related - honours anthropology with a minor in psychology) in 2000 and then with a Bachelor of Education in 2003. I have been teaching second grade for the last five years. I love my job, and I'm good at it, but I know that it's time for the next phase of my life.

Calculating my GPA is making me so dizzy! It isn't stellar. My second year of university (3.37 all the way back in 1997) keeps bringing it down. This is what it looks like I've got after figuring everything out:

Cum. average (4-yr degree): 3.68

Best 2 years: 3.82

Cum. average (à la UofT, which allows me to drop 24 credits): 3.81

All of these GPAs will go up if I'm allowed to count my BEd. I earned a 3.9 GPA during my BEd, but I'm not sure if Med Schools will care.

I feel like I'm becoming obssessed with adding and re-adding and trying to figure out where I have a chance of getting in!