Premed 101 Forums

The lost RN

Hi everyone,

I've been nursing for 4 years now and for the past 2, have been considering switching over to medicine. I do not have my nursing degree (just RN diploma) and am completely lost in how get on the right path into medicine. I have considered taking the final 2 years for post RN degree (just to have a degree), but don't want to waste time studying things that won't specifically help me in medicine.

Does anyone have any suggestions??:confused:

I think you should finish your degree. Some schools very much prefer degrees, and can be an advantage if you do really well in them (3.8+). You would also have a degree should you choose to go back to nursing. Not only that, but would you not get some medical experience during clerkships (I don't remember 100% of the nursing program, but any medical work there would look way better than the medical-related volunteering of many premeds). Just my opinion anyways......good luck!

Thanks for your response!

I kind of figured that real clinical experience would catch the eye, but I also feel that I need a sounder knowledge base in the sciences (although I've done some of my own self teaching throughout my career ... nothing that can be credited though). Time-wise, completing the 2 year nursing degree program makes a lot of sense (I'm already 26).

Thanks again!

I would also say that completing your BScN is the way to go. Many schools do require a degree and so you'd have this requirement fulfilled. In addition, as you know, a degree in nursing will open more doors for you within the field as compared to having a diploma.

One thing to note, you should look into the individual medical schools that interest you. Every school will have their own requirements (pre-reqs, MCAT or not, etc) so you should try to take some of these courses along the way if necessary. Best of luck!

Thanks for your reply. I will start looking at the requirements for each school.