Premed 101 Forums

Rant - Full-Time Course Load

So here's the deal.

I completed my bachelor degree in 5 years. The first four years were part time (3-4 courses) because I had to work in order to be able to pay for school. In my last year I still worked but I took a full course load, and it just so happens that I got the best marks in that semester.

Correct me if you think this is a convoluded way of thinking. I believe that my ability to complete a bachelor degree in 5 years with a good GPA, while working a minimum of 25 hours a week at a job that I love demonstrates that I am able to handle a heavy work load while still maintaining good grades and remaining passionate about what I do. Nevermind the fact that in my last year when I actually took a full course load (and still worked 4 days a week) I got the best GPA of all 5 years.

Apparently Ottawa disagrees......and I am left fustrated :confused::mad: (there is no fustrated emoticon, so I thought that a combination of confused/mad would suffice.)

END OF RANT

Clarification:

I am applying this September for entry in Fall 2009. I emailed Ottawa asking about my situation. They said that because I only took 3-4 courses a semester, that I didn't meet their requirements. Their requirements are in place so that they admit students who are able to handle a heavy work load.

You should have done your research 5 years ago if you wanted to be a doctor.

Not trying to be harsh but I just don't have any sympathy, probably because I'm taking more than double the courses you are w/ work.

I totally wish that I knew 100% what I wanted to do with my life at the age of 17, but I didn't. I just knew that I loved the field of psychology/science, that I had to work while I went to school, and that medicine was an option, if I kept my grades up.

So I figure all I can do is now is apply for schools that don't hold that against me, and rant a few times here and there!