Premed 101 Forums

studying for heavy memorization courses

Guest osjx82

Hi everyone. I'm an undergrad student at UBC. I just wrote my histology final (Anatomy 390 at UBC). I did pretty well in the course overall but studying for it was hell. The amount of work was overwhelming:p (for me at least) and there was sooo much detail thrown at you that by the time I finished studying for the final my brain was just over stuffed and something had to come out of it before I could stuff more information in.

My question is...how do you guys (med students) study for these pure memorization courses?

would like to hear your thoughts.

Thanks!

Guest cutieyellow

I just read things over and over and over. I usually do about 5 readings of the material over the semester. Mind you, that's my method, and there are no good ways. I have a friend that only reads it twice but that takes like 30 min per page...making sure he knows every little bitty detail on that page. I'd rather read it over and over. Mind you, 1000 pages x 5 does get kinda annoying...but...i find it's always worked for me.

CY

I'm not in medicine, but I go over each lecture for that day at night briefly to make sure I understand everything...if not, I get help right away. At the end of the semester I read everything through briefly to review. Next time through I read and then recite without looking, and then check what I've missed page by page. Finally, I go through once trying to recite pages from memory by only looking at the title of the slide/page/topic. I highlight what I don't know and review that the night/morning before an exam.

Med students I know start memorizing bits and pieces from day one so it becomes part of their deeper memory...that way they don't feel as explosive/full of information on a superficial level come exam day.

I have been keeping up throughout the term and I made sure I understood everything, which is different from being able to remember and regurgitate on the exam.