Premed 101 Forums

From Chiropractor to Medical School.

I am just curious if anyone can offer any input to my situation. I am a Chiropractor in Alberta who owns a successful practice. I have been practicing for 5 years, but now at 30 years of age I have decided to persue my Life Long Dream....Medical School!

I have all the pre-req's completed, as I have a B.Sc. with a major in Biochemistry. My undergrad marks kind of sucked, having a cumulative GPA of 3.3. I then went to the USA where I received my D.C. 4 years later. My GPA in Chiropractic College was 3.6.

My EC's, life experience and volunteer experience are good. I can speak French fairly well. I have lived my whole life in rural communities throughout the East Coast and here in Alberta and have a strong passion for Rural Medicine.

In the next year I plan to take the MCAT. I am just wondering if I should take some more undergrad courses??? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hey there dc2md, and welcome to the non-trad group.

A lot of us are in the same situation, with a relatively low first undergrad GPA. I don't know how many schools you looked into, but you'll find most of them are really strict on the GPA cutoff.

I remember reading for at least one school that chiropractic/homeopathy courses were not included in GPA calculation. If that's the case, you'll have to go back and do a few more years of undergrad, preferably two full years of full time classes and preferably with a 3.7+ GPA. Admissions commitees only look at your life experience once you've met the GPA and MCAT cutoffs.

On the other hand, if the schools you're interested in do consider your chiropractic marks, apply as soon as you can and see from there.

Speaking French is good, but the Québec schools work on a completely different system. For example, you can't apply to Sherbrooke if you're from Ontario. Well, you can apply but they'll just ignore you because they don't have seats for Franco-Ontarians.

Best of luck.