Premed 101 Forums

Utter isolation = success?

MedSchoolAhoy

So, in evaluating how I want to tackle MCAT studying, I've grappled with the common question of do I take a course or not.

Seeing as how I have no background in science whatsoever, and am very easily distracted with little motivation or discipline (I should be writing a paper right now), I figured I would do the course.

Yet I'm also poor. So...my family has this cabin on this island with a few other cabins. No internet, telephone, or young attractive people to distract me. Just ocean and senior citizens. I thought about spending the whole summer there with MCAT books. Are they sufficient to learn all the material I've missed? Is this a good idea?

________

Toyota V transmission history

haha depends....

personally.... I was very motivated for the thing... and would lock myself in the library day after day.... but if I didn't get out at least every now and then or.... at least I need the option to do something else or I would have went stir-crazy and burnt out.

So while isolation can be helpful, in my instance it would have been quite detrimental after a few weeks.

Yet I'm also poor. So...my family has this cabin on this island with a few other cabins.

OK, is it just me, or is that completely contradictory? LOL.:P

I feel like I really benefited from the fact that I had a super-boring job where I rarely had anything to do while I studied for the MCAT. That pretty much led to me having to study for 6-8 hours a day. Then when I came home, I could relax and not worry about studying. So I think isolation in some form or other could be a good thing.

So, in evaluating how I want to tackle MCAT studying, I've grappled with the common question of do I take a course or not.

Seeing as how I have no background in science whatsoever, and am very easily distracted with little motivation or discipline (I should be writing a paper right now), I figured I would do the course.