Premed 101 Forums

Abortion questions

Amnesty

A case that I was curious what you guys think about:

Suppose you have a teenage girl, pregnant. She would like an abortion because the child belongs to her father/rapist. What would you do about her social situation and medical situation?

A case that I was curious what you guys think about:

Suppose you have a teenage girl, pregnant. She would like an abortion because the child belongs to her father/rapist. What would you do about her social situation and medical situation?

Offer to provide her with information on counselling services. Depending on her age, and if she is living at home, call child services (teenager is a broad age, I believe that unless they are old enough to be living on their old, you are legally bound to call child services). I don't think I will personally be doing abortions, but I am not a doctor who is going to condemn and judge a patient for wanting to get one, so I would provide her with a list of doctors whom I know perform abortions. (considering the nature of how the child was begotten I would try to find a female abortionist).

1.) call the cops

2.) give her the abortion

how can this be made any easier?

I can somewhat see the doctor having a responsibility to take the action to the next level (especially if she hasn't really told anyone about it), but I would let the social workers do what they were trained to do. She came to the doc for medical help, so I'd help her.

Yeah, this case is pretty straight forward. Make sure that she is aware of all her options. Although the child is a product of rape, she may still prefer to give it up for adoption, or even to raise it on her own. This certainly may not be the case, but it's imperative that she's aware of all the avenues that she can go down.

Once you've done that, you should help her follow it, but also make sure that she's got a safe environment to go home to. This involves calling the police, which is an ethical and legal must.