Premed 101 Forums

What schools provide the best chance?

Hi.

I am a 4th year UBC student majoring in Cell Biology and Genetics program and I am interested in applying for medical school in the next cycles. I have read around the forums and the admissions sites but I am still having trouble narrowing down which schools I can apply to besides UBC with a good chance of getting in. I realize that OOP standards are much higher than IP.

My stats:

MCAT: 30R - 10/10/10

Overall GPA %: 85.8

Last 60 credits GPA%: 88.2%

Pre-requisite GPA %: 83.9%

Last 2 years (60 credits) GPA: 3.86

Top credits (U of T weighting) GPA: 3.87

Non-academics:

-Housebuilding with Habitat for Humanity.

-Travelling to Europe (2x for competitive soccer tournaments, exhibitions), Cuba, S. America.

-1 year research experience.

-Volunteer with homeless shelter, Vancouver General Hospital, Volunteer Fire Brigade, Science World.

-12 years of competitive level soccer, representing province and top amateur men's level (currently).

-Involvement in several clubs (no managerial positions however).

*I am wondering how long ago your non-academic qualifications can be from? Just from university?

I think that I am competitive for UBC and maybe a decent shot at U of C and U of A, saskatchewan/manitoba (although I don't really want to live there) but what are my chances for Ontario schools and realistically, the ones listed above? I know my MCAT is nothing spectacular but it is my first attempt..I could take it again if I had to. My main concern is a low overall GPA because of a poor first year (3.3GPA although 81%)...adding to 3.72cGPA

Thanks for the help!