Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances? MSc grad, good EC's, 3.3, 29Q

Guest hughangus

Guest hughangus

I have a masters in biochem., with publications, good ec's. But, my Cum GPA from undergrad. is 3.3 and my mcat is VR-11,BS-10, PS-8 and WS-Q (29Q). Which is not the greatest. I was thinking about retaking in august? What should I do? Do I have a chance at all? I was going to apply every where in canada and ireland and maybe USA (but i'm not sure what schools i should apply to)?

Guest Jochi1543

Is your master's GPA high?

I'd rewrite the MCAT if you think you still have enough time to improve your PS score...Otherwise, your MCAT may prevent you from being considered at schools with cut-offs, such as Queens or UWO.

Guest mg83

I know someone with a 27Q who got into U of A but they had like a 3.7-3.9 GPA so i dunno...depends on what school you apply to

Guest arjuna83

It also depends on what province you reside in. If you live in Ontario (more specifically Toronto), your chances are quite slim since most Ontario schools don't give preference to Ontarians. The reason I mentioned Toronto is because many Ontario schools have regional preferences (NOSM: Northern Ontario, Ottawa: Ottawa region, Western: SWOMEN). Medical schools in every other province reserve 85-90% of their spots for in-province students, leaving very few for out of province students. Thus, your chances as an OOP (if you indeed are one) are quite slim once again.

Take a look at all the schools' requirements. Determine which schools expectations match up with your own strengths, and focus on those schools.

Guest Iguazu03

MSc. grad, great ECs (spent 1yr volunteering abroad), 3.7 gpa, 29R (took it 4 times).

Applied 5 times to all ontario universities and alberta, no interview invites, except ottawa (but got rejected).

I feel I've tried everything and have no idea what to do now. ANY advice would help.

Thanks

Guest DimitriTheDr