Premed 101 Forums

Where to do undergrad (Canada or the US)

I'm a Canadian high school student and I have a good chance at admission to some decent colleges in America for my undergrad (Vanderbilt, Cornell, Columbia, etc). I can pretty much get into any program I want in Canada. I want to become a doctor and I have two options. One is to leave for the US and the other is the famous MacMaster Health Sciences program, which pretty much ensures my admission to med school in Canada. I have confidence in my abilities.

I was wondering what you recommend. Will I have a chance at admission to a fine US med school from MacMaster University? Because despite the specific program's reputation in Canada, MacMaster U is not a well-known school world-wide. My other option (which is more appropriate for US med school apps) is McGill, but that would be a huge risk since I can pretty much ensure my acceptance to Canadian med schools from MacMaster's.

Thanks for your time

I'd go to the US and gun for a full ride or close to it. I had a pretty sweet scholarship at my alma mater in the US (>$11,000/yr, and was offered more by another institution). If you have a good app and can get into an institution like Columbia, you're set for life. Now, the issue with US schools is that high grades is not enough - the undergrad application process there is much like that in medicine (minus interviews). So it's not enough to have 1450+ SAT (or whatever the equivalent is today, 2150+?) and 3.7+, you need to stand out with your work/volunteer/EC experiences. I did not have the highest GPA when I applied to the US, but I think my knowledge of foreign languages and the fact that I was living on my own in a foreign country at age 16 caught the adcoms' eye. I received scholarship offers from every school that accepted me.