Premed 101 Forums

Summer Student Research Positions at UofT

Guest Rome1

I recently heard about a summer student research program at UofT in the Medical Imaging & Physics. It is basically a research assistant position for undergrads, from what I hear. I was wondering if anyone here took part in this program or have heard of it. Would you mind telling me how you found the research experience and if it would be worthwhile applying if you are a first year student. The programs is looking for second and third year students, as well as outstanding first years. Should I go for it or wait another year to apply...

Guest therealcrackers

Most of the graduate departments at U of T have summer research programs. I was a grad student at the Institute for Medical Science, and they had quite a large program for undergraduate students interested in membrane biology, whole organ physiology, molecular genetics and some clinical and community health work. Call up the graduate departments and see what's going on... the deadlines for most of the applications are before the middle of February.

Guest bluesky125

Hi Rome1

I worked as a summer student at Medical Imagining & Physics Program after my first year and it was a great experience. I was a little unnerved by the "outstanding" first year part but I applied anyway. My advice is to apply to different summer programs so you can maximize your options. I learned a lot as a summer student. What I like best about this program is that you get to interact with other research students. So apply!

bluesky125