Premed 101 Forums

Applying to easy US or big 5 carribean med schools directly without trying in ON firs

solace

Hi everyone, this site is awesome and it is my first time posting ( as i just registered).

I know this question is repeated so many times and yes there is a sticky, but please here me out.

Should i apply directly to US (easy ones) and carribean medical schools directly, without trying here first in canada (esp in ontario, which is my home province)?

The reason for such a question? Well my gpa for years 1-3 at UofT for BSc is 3.18 (year one 3.18,year two 3.48, year three 2.84)and I am taking the mcat this summer and hopefully will get around 33Qish. Now this gpa is well below even the minimum gpa to apply for most schools in ontario (except mac).

So should i even bother applying blindly, when i know i dont meet the criteria and spend roughy a $1000.

Please help me out, deadline for application are coming.Any other routes you suggest i take, or where i can apply with my stats.

My ECs are decent, incl hospital volunteering, alotttt of community service,sports, and one year of research with a neurophychologist (no publication)

Thanks

p.s i live in toronto,ON and would like to practice here in ontario

i agree with leviathan... what exactly is your hurry? i mean, as a non-trad myself, i appreciate not wanting to be in school forever, but even if you got into an american or caribbean school, you're probably going to have to spend time fighting the system to get back to ontario (plus, pay off your boatload of american school debt) so why not invest that money and time NOW, rather than then?

being honest, your year three has hurt you quite a bit. can you consider graduating NOW (ie: take a concentration, not an honours degree) and then re-start with a second degree? alternatively, you could do a 5th year, and read the posts about schools that take your best two years, if you really pull up this year?